Originally published by the Northern Virginia Technology Council.

Names Keynote Speakers and Award Finalists for NVTC Capital Cyber Awards

October 5, 2021

Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC), the trade association representing the national capital region’s technology community, today announced the keynote speakers for its sixth annual NVTC Capital Cybersecurity Summit to be held on Friday, October 22, 2021 at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner. The event will cover the latest cybersecurity policies and serve as a gathering for the best and brightest minds in the cyber and national security sectors.   

“Virginia is home to more cybersecurity companies per capita than any other state in our nation. Our Cyber Summit is a moment to celebrate our region’s leading position as a cyber hub and learn about the latest security practices,” said Jennifer Taylor, president and CEO of NVTC. “Today, cybersecurity is at the forefront of business leaders’ minds, as they implement safeguards to protect their data and propriety information to mitigate risks of cyberattacks.”

This year’s summit will bring together a diverse group of industry leaders to discuss the challenges, risks and opportunities when setting and implementing federal cybersecurity policies; as well as the practicalities of defending the nation’s critical cyber infrastructure and mitigating new and emerging threats. The keynote speakers are Jen Easterly, director of the Department of Homeland Security’s Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) and Amit Yoran, chairman and CEO, Tenable.

The summit will include speakers from globally-recognized organizations including Adobe, Accenture Security, Children’s National Hospital, Cognizant, Corsha, Dell Technologies, Dominion Energy, Fortalice Solutions, Global Cyber Risk LLC, MITRE, Sonatype, The Linux Foundation and Tracepoint. Panel discussions will cover the following topics:

  • National Policies to Help Defend Our Nation
  • The Practical Realities of Defending our Nation’s Critical Infrastructure from Known and Unknown Threats
  • How Cybersecurity Innovation Bridges the Gap between Policy and Practice

Finalists for the 3rd annual NVTC Capital Cybersecurity Awards include:

Cyber CEO of the Year

  • Grant Elliot, Ostendio
  • Linda LaRoche, Computer Systems Center Incorporated (CSCI)
  • Gilman Louie, LookingGlass Cyber Solutions
  • Michael Volk, GuidePoint Security
  • John Wood, Telos

Cyber Company of the Year

  • Cybrary
  • GuidePoint Security
  • IronNet
  • Two Six Technologies

Cyber Deal of the Year

  • IronNet
  • Tracepoint
  • Two Six Technologies

Cyber Executive of the Year

  • Rob Palmer, ShorePoint
  • Anubhav Raj, Aligned

Cyber Government Contractor of the Year

  • 22nd Century Technologies
  • Intelligent Waves
  • ShorePoint

Cyber Startup of the Year

  • Cynalytica
  • Shift5
  • Tracepoint

The NVTC Capital Cyber Awards honor the region’s best cyber companies and leaders. This year, NVTC received nearly 40 nominations from esteemed companies, organizations and individuals working to advance cybersecurity. The panel of judges included Lenard Marcus, general partner, Edison Partners; Tony Moraco, former CEO, SAIC and Dr. John Zangardi, president, Redhorse Corporation. Award recipients will be announced throughout the summit.

For more information on the event and to register, please visit http://www.capitalcybersummit.com.